University Senate

Appointment procedures

Appointments shall be in accordance with the University constitution which states that there is hereby established a Senate of the University in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution. These shall be competent professionals committed to the cores and objectives of the University. 

Senate Membership

The membership of the Senate of the University shall consist of the following members:
  1. The Vice Chancellor, who shall be the Chairperson;
  2. The Deputy Vice Chancellor of Academic, who shall be the Vice Chairperson;
  3. The Deputy Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administration;
  4. The Principals (2)
  5. The Vice Principals (2)
  6. Deans of Faculties
  7. One person from each faculty elected in accordance with relevant rules, and shall be elected from full time academic staff holding posts allocated to the faculty;
  8. Such other members as may be co-opted from time to time by the Senate for a period not exceeding twelve (12) months or to the end of the tenure of the sitting Senate, whichever comes first and on such conditions as the Senate may determine
  9. One member elected by the Students’ Union as long as such member shall not be in attendance during examination-related and student-relate deliberations where conflict of interest may arise
©2021 Lake Malawi Anglican University. All Rights Reserved.